Horrifying Christian responses to Connecticut shooting

Excellent article by William Hamby at The Examiner.


Bryan Fischer suggests his god runs a protection racket. Picture credit: tumblr.com

“Hey, I’ll be glad to protect your children, but you gotta invite me back into your world first.”

It’s really a pretty terrifying concept. And it is, by definition, extortion. Jesus, who holds all the cards by virtue of creating everything and having absolute power over everything, will let children be senselessly murdered if we don’t pray in school every morning. It’s extortion, pure and simple, and what’s worse, there’s pretty good historical evidence that even when there is lots of prayer, God falls down on the job of protection. An awful lot of children have been raped in churches by his own clerics.

Full article.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Horrifying Christian responses to Connecticut shooting

  1. A response from a fellow brother to the question that most people would have about the tragic incident at Sandy Hook Elementary School, CT.
    ———————
    Where is God and the Connecticut School Shooting

    by Matt Slick

    On 12/14/2012, in Newtown, CT, Adam Lanza, a crazed killer, took the lives of his mother, five adults, and twenty children at an elementary school. The tragedy is a horrible shock to America.

    We here at CARM want to extend our profound sympathy to the families who have suffered so greatly in this catastrophe. We ache over their loss. It is horrible. No words are sufficient to express what needs to be said.

    With that being said, I want to respond to the question that frequently comes up at times like this, “Where was God during the Connecticut shooting?”

    The answer is simple. God is where he has always been, all around us. He is there when bad happens as well as good. He was there when Herod ordered the death of the young boys under two (Matt. 2:16). He was there when Jesus was being crucified (Matt. 27:33-34). He was there when Jesus healed the paralytic (Luke 5:17-26). He was there when Jesus raised Jairus’ daughter from the dead (Luke 8:41-42,51-56).

    God is there. But he is also here. We see his fingerprints at the birth of the newborn, the beauty of a sunset, and the grace extended to a stranger.

    But, we have to ask: Why didn’t God step in and stop the massacre in Connecticut? Why did he sit idly by and let it happen?

    Though we have no perfect answers, I offer this. God is letting us have what we want. He is letting us suffer the consequences of our independence from him.

    Our society has placed God beyond the boundaries of moral relevance. It has restricted him to a mythological status who is believed in only by the bigoted religious right. Our society has turned its back on God’s truths and substituted its own. Instead of upholding the sacred institution of marriage, it legislates homosexuality in its redefinition of the family. Instead of encouraging society to be morally good, it defends the rights of people to be promiscuous. Instead of protecting the innocent, it legislates the killing of the unborn. Then, when elementary school children are killed by a crazed monster, it raises his head and asks, “God, where are you?”

    Where is He? He is watching from the outside where most of society wants him to be. He has been watching from the confines of our national disbelief and rejection of his sovereign goodness. It seems that society only wants God on its terms, not his.

    But, he is still there. In fact, he is still here, now, right here.

    Sin is running its course through the world, and in the process tragedies, famines, and injustices abound. The solution is to teach the truths of Christ about loving one another, forgiveness, patience, and tolerance. Instead of promoting violence in movies, video games, and TV, we should promote what is good. How can we expect the individuals of society to act in a moral way when that same society promotes violence and moral relativism?

    In spite of our rebellion against God, his love is so great that he sent his innocent Son Jesus to live a perfect life among us (John 3:16; 1 Pet. 2:22). Jesus was wrongly accused and murdered for his crimes of standing for decency and moral integrity. But in his murder we find our redemption, because in it, at the cross, God put upon Jesus our sins and let them die with him (1 Pet. 2:24). All who put their faith, trust, and hope in the work of Christ on the cross (who is God in flesh, John 1:1, 14), will escape the final consequence of sin which is eternal damnation.

    For those of us who are Christians, we should pray for the families who have suffered so great a loss. We should pray that God would intervene and prevent further atrocities.

    • RP says:

      Dear Dickens,

      You’re obviously sincere, but I have to level with you: that was a load of regurgitated old crap. I honestly searched but failed to see any thought at all behind it. You know, some thinking of your own? What I see is just a regurgitation, like a parrot you’re just repeating what your pastors have told you. No critical thinking, no ideas of your own, no challenging what others have said, nothing but blind, brain-washed repetition of old bullcrap.

      Worst of all: You accuse others of bigotry, yet your own words reek of it. You probably didn’t even see it as you typed the words.

      We may never understand each other, but here’s my message to you, plain and simple: I have no problem at all with faithful people praying all you want when you’re at home, just keep your harmful death cult out of our society. Out of schools, out of the legal system, out of societal institutions.

      Why do I ask that of you? Here’s why:

      https://religionpoisons.wordpress.com/2012/12/17/what-religion-contributed-to-the-world-during-november/

      • Dear RP,

        First of all I would like to let you know that I didn’t put any of my thoughts into the post because I was working and did not have the liberty of taking a lengthy amount of time to put my thoughts into cyberspace. You didn’t have to “search” for my thoughts as I just wrote one sentence at the beginning stating that I’m just re-posting what a fellow brother wrote in response to a question that I perceive to be one that lots of people would have (believers who are struggling with their faith as a result of tragedies and atheists who take this opportunity to mock faith in God and to advance their belief of atheism). It also wasn’t necessary of you to speak with judgment and hostility towards me, because you don’t know me well enough to place those judgments, and I didn’t do anything to harm you. Before reading on, I just kindly ask that you lower your defense systems, open your heart, and seek to understand me as a fellow human being with a different background and faith.

        Second, thank you for at least acknowledging that I’m sincere, because you’re right about that, as I myself have a 4-month old daughter with my beautiful wife, who are both precious beyond the description of words to me. You’re wrong about the fact that I just regurgitated something my pastors told me, because personally, I don’t hold any pastors in high regard (The Holy Spirit Is my ONLY Teacher, and I learn from reading the studying the Bible with my wife and a few of my dear brothers and sisters In Christ), and I don’t ever take their teachings over the Teachings Of Scripture. The fact is that I had a desire to see what response “Christians” had towards the incident, and to see if they are acting as faithful ambassadors of Jesus Christ to reflect His Compassion, His Love, His Grace, and His Mercy, and is exactly why I searched for “Christian Response to Connecticut Shooting” on Google. What I found was a mixture: as expected there would always be the bigoted responses from the ultra-conservative Christian leaders who almost seem to show indifference towards any tragic incidents, and there would be the zealous and ultra-liberal evangelists who would take any tragedy as an opportunity to preach about God’s Salvation (I love all of them as they are all my brothers and sisters, albeit with different approaches and spiritual states as I). Then I found this post that I just decided to re-post, without adding much of my own thoughts, because I felt that this was a response that people needed to read, and to seriously think hard about. My belief is that if the nations were populated with more God-fearing, righteousness-seeking individuals who abide to an absolute moral standard that is perfectly just, then there would be less capacity for man to commit sins and atrocities, as there would be no “moral relativism” (which is basically “I decide what is right and wrong in my eyes”, in layman terms). I want to ask you RP, did you even open your heart and try to read through the response in its entirety without first placing any judgment because of the lens that you’ve formed against “religion” and “Christianity”? You can answer yourself on that question, as that is totally irrelevant to me. This is your own spiritual journey that is between you and God alone, and in this life you can either make the choice to accept Him and glorify Him, or to reject Him altogether (which I pray, according to my faith, that you won’t do in the end). Even though you don’t currently believe in His Existence, I do want to tell you that He Knows your every thought, and Knows what you’ve been through in life (whether they be joyful or heart-wrenching events), and He Genuinely Wants you to know Him personally, but won’t force you to, as Love stems from free will, not coercion.

        Please read this blog post as it explains what I want to say better than I can:

        http://www.godevidence.com/2010/07/why-doesnt-god-show-himself/

        Finally, about myself and my experience with the news of the tragic incident; as I sat and read about the horrific incident that came to pass at Sandy Hook Elementary School, I couldn’t help but think to myself: “What if that was my little one?” I lost my direction for the entire day as I struggled to come to terms with the fact that such evil exists in this world, but was reminded again by The Scriptures that this world is a broken and fallen world because of the sin and rebellion of man, which is why Jesus Christ Came the first time 2,000 years ago To Establish the Foundation for His Heavenly Kingdom, a righteous and just Kingdom with the absence of injustices. My heart filled with grief for those parents, families, and friends of the victims as I mourned with them in spirit, but I have faith that things will be restored in the end, just not at our timing and not according to our definition of justice (because then we would be usurping God’s Authority and denying His Sovereignty). Again, this is my belief and I don’t expect you to agree with me on any of those points that I’ve mentioned, but remember that I am entitled to my beliefs and so are you, and let’s not judge each other because we believe different things. As for your final comment, I would like to say that there will always be Christians who do a disservice to The Lord because of their own selfish desires, pride, arrogance, weakness, etc. Please do not look to them in forming your own image of God, because they, like you and I, are imperfect sinners. Look to the source, look to God, because He Claims that He Is Perfect and Just, so ask Him to Prove that to you and to Reveal His Character and Nature to you.

        Jesus Christ did not Come to Bring us religion (that’s a man-made institution), He Came to Bring us Salvation and to Bring us Life Everlasting.

        I pray that you, my dear friend, will find God one day (sooner the better), because He Will Rock your world (in a good way) and Transform your life! I was an atheist up until last year, and I thank God for Coming into my life and I would never look back!

        God Bless you dear friend, and Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!

        Dickens

  2. RP says:

    Dear Dickens,

    Thanks for your sincere effort to explain. Appreciated! Just don’t break your back over this, I’m afraid your chances of converting me are slim.

    I just want to make it clear that I did not attack you personally, as you seem to think. I attacked the ideas you presented. Big difference. I notice that religious people often confuse the two and are quick to take criticism personally. (Christianity tends to focus a lot on playing the victim, the oppressed.) Obviously I have nothing against you as a person, as I have never met you. That could change though if you try to force your beliefs upon me or society. As long as you play by the same rules as others, I’ll be honored to be your friend.

    I’ll do you the courtesy of speaking frankly and ask you do me the same favour. Again, confronting the ideas, not you as a person.

    You speak of evidence? I promise, I’m 100% open to the possibility that Jahwe or Allah or Odin or Krishna and Vishnu may exist, but the brutal truth is that Christianity, over 3,000 years, has had thousands of theologians spending their entire lives trying to find and present any kind of evidence of this magical invisible sky-daddy you’re talking about. Result: zero, zip, null. The “godevidence” site you linked to is nothing but vapour and white wash.

    Going by the available evidence (none), the only rational conclusion is that your deity simply doesn’t want to reveal itself, or it doesn’t exist.

    You know what else carries the same amount of weight in evidence? Pink unicorns. Flying saucers. A frog family living inside the sun. Go ahead, believe that too.

    At this point, my opponents usually change the subject to speak about faith instead of evidence, but hey: you started the talk about evidence, the above is just my response to that.

    (And no, a wonderful feeling along the spine and goosebumps is not evidence of supernatural forces. We all have it, Christian or not.)

    One thing I found interesting in your text: evil. We could discuss it if you want. I have come to the conclusion that a maniac murderer is not evil. He is simply a maniac, a psychopath, a sociopath. That’s not evil. That’s something wrong in his brain, neither more nor less.

    Instead, my definition of evil is someone who harms others while acting out of a deep-seated conviction that they are doing good. As opposed to acting out of a belief based on reason and open to arguments that could prove it wrong. Try the definition on examples from history:

    Mussolini’s fascists? Convinced they were doing good.
    Nazi supporters? Convinced they were doing good.
    Kamikaze soldiers? Convinced they were doing the most honourable thing for the Emperor.
    The inquisition? Convinced they were doing good.
    Mother Teresa? Convinced she were doing good. (In reality, she caused a lot of harm)
    Priests who burnt witches at the stake? Convinced they were doing good. (Still happening, 2012.)

    If someone pointed out to me that I harm people, I would hopefully listen, discover my horrible error and change my ways. But when people points out to the Pope that he harms people, he shuts his ears and trusts his conviction with – you guessed it – blind faith.

    I’d be curious to hear arguments against my definition of evil, and hear a better one.

    Just don’t spend your energy trying to convert me – probably a waste of time.

    Best regards,
    RP

  3. James says:

    What’s the point of god at all if he plays both sides of the fence? Why pray to god if the result is no better than chance?

Leave a Reply

