A Muslim child, a Christian child, and a Jewish child

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Muslim child, a Christian child, and a Jewish child

  1. Kegan says:

    I have to disagree and agree in a way…I get where you are coming from, but here’s the thing: It does matter what family you are born into because of the fact that it is hard to let go of what you’ve been told all your life, but when you get out on your own, if you truly search for the truth, then you’ll find it. It’s hard to neglect a leaning to your childhood beliefs, but if you truly search for the truth, then you’ll find it. I don’t believe any individual has found the WHOLE truth…We just find pieces or the majority…But its all up to the person. This is hard for me to explain, but I hope I got my point across to you. πŸ™‚

  2. Kegan says:

    Oh! And thank you for taking you time to read this! πŸ˜‰

  3. RP says:

    Dear Kegan,

    Of course, everyone is the product of their heritage and their environment. And parents naturally have a strong right to foster their children.

    The point here was to show that smacking labels on children is wrong. As an adult or adolescent, you are completely free to join any club and stick any label onto your forehead (Christian, Muslim, humanist, vegetarian, feminist, Red Sox fan, violin enthusiast, etc etc).

    In my opinion, you are equally free to remove such labels. Even if they were put there by your parents.

    Religious parents tend not to agree with this. And mere labels are not enough. Jews and Muslims mutilate your genitals to give you a physical mark that can never be removed. Christians have baptism which exactly the same idea, just symbolic and not physical: according to church doctrine, baptism can never be undone. (By the way, it’s perfectly fine to get baptized as a grown-up, like everyone did in the days of the Bible – but Christians want to do it before their kids are old enough to think or choose anything.)

    So here’s something to consider: why do religious parents work so hard to make their kids religious too?

    One possible answer:
    β€œThe constant assertion of belief is an indication of fear.” ~ Jiddu Krishnamurti

    • Kegan says:

      I see where you’re coming from, but I’d like to comment on one particular thing. Not wanting to insult anyone, but I do want to point something out. Most Christians don’t let kids get baptized. The child would have to be over the age of understanding and saved…Although, there is no particular way to make sure that the child is saved…Therefore, they have to go by the child’s word. Baptism is a very serious thing and, thus, going by the mere word of a child is wrong. Teens (who are the usual “children” to get saved) often get saved, but most pastors take great precaution in this. They ask the child if they understand everything and make sure to tell them both the benefits and consequences of it. However, there are the Catholics who believe in baptism by “sprinkling” the water on everyone, including babies! I find this dangerous, but am not to judge. I, myself, am a Christian…However, I have not been as sheltered through my life as most tend to be. I was not a Christian and did not live in a Christian home for many years, but things happened that completely changed or revolutionized our home and lives. It was due to those years, however, that I understood and can still understand some things that most Christians do not. It is easier for me not to be so judgmental of the many people around me because of those years in the world and the trials I have faced so far. I cannot help but wonder about other religions, though…It is not to convert, of course, but simply to understand them better. I do not converse like this as a debate, but merely a learning experience. I also would like you to know that I am also counted as a child, for I am in my early teenage years. πŸ™‚ I hope I did not rant too much. The part you said about the Jews and such…I don’t know much about them…but I hope that I can grow to learn and help others as much as GOD allows!
      P.s. I do not take offense to what you said about Christians (there really wasn’t anything offensive about it.) and I DO understand what you are saying. πŸ˜‰

      • RP says:

        Dear Kegan, thanks for sharing your honest reasoning.

        Perhaps you shouldn’t believe everything your priest tells you. According to this source, up to 80% of Christian churches baptize infants:
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Believer's_baptism

        The exact number might be a bit lower, but the question remains: why do religious parents try so hard to force their particular religion onto their children? It’s pretty much the same in all religions. What’s the danger in simply teaching your child decent ethics and let them join any religion they want to, say, when they’re 18?

        Can you think of ANY other organization out there practicing the mandatory enrollment of infants into the club? A membership that can NEVER be undone, at that.

        In contrast, consider this thought: all children are born atheists. In other words, they don’t believe in any God yet.

        The whole point with religion is to use repetition and ritual to assert authoritative dogma. Can you think of ANY other movement in society doing this? Do scientists feel the need to join hands every Sunday, singing “Oh yes, we have strong faith in the theory of gravity”?

        Of course not. Scientists don’t rely on wishful thinking. They go where the evidence points. Would you ride an elevator constructed by an engineer who used faith instead of physics as his method?

        No response necessary, just food for thought.

        I think Krishnamurti is dead on: The constant assertion of belief is an indication of fear.

Leave a Reply

